dws: I know they’re bogus, but still …

It’s possible to make a program that’s only barely interesting to me, but still have enough effort and forethought invested to make it an intriguing piece of work.

dws is like that for me. dws runs to the Internet for you and collects statistics on given distros.

From Distrowatch.

2013-10-02-v5-122p-dws

All right, all right. Stop digging around for the “reply” button so you can offer a scathing retort. I know Distrowatch scores are as useless as lips on a chicken. As useless as a screen door on a submarine. As useless as … as Distrowatch rankings.

Bear with me. dws isn’t big, it isn’t flashy, and really if I had my way, it would be a little less wordy in its output.

On the other hand, it doesn’t just grab whatever is on the front page. You tell it the distros you want to poll — and even better — tell it the range of data you want.

So, as in the example above, you can grab information across six months, and get a better approximation … of … well, you get the idea.

Dig for a few other options, and you might be able to find a use for dws. I know worthless stats are worthless stats, but dws at least does an admirable job of retrieving and collating them.

Take it for what it’s worth. 😐

4 thoughts on “dws: I know they’re bogus, but still …

  1. hh

    was a bit verbose, agree, now try version 1.3.4, updated today. Never put that much thought into this script, but easy to update it with: dws -U

    dws -d openbsd,opensolaris,pcbsd -t 30
    Distrowatch.com 30 day rankings:
    openbsd: 93 (154+)
    opensolaris: not ranked
    pcbsd: 31 (430~)

    Also added space padding if not irc to make the columns line up nicely.

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Hey, great! I’ll check it out. I think my underlying idea was that I could use this to static-update a third-party web site with rankings, if the output was terse enough. Thanks! 🙂

  2. hh

    You could have parsed the output, of course, and stripped out the non relevant word strings, however, when I came across your posting and then looked at the output again, I realized you were right, it was repetitive, plus there was another thing in the script that needed to be updated.

    Since my coming across this posting was pure chance, I/’d suggest posting on http://techpatterns.com/forums/about1474.html

Comments are closed.