diakonos: A very friendly text editor

I haven’t seen a text editor in a while; here’s a good one: diakonos.

2013-10-01-v5-122p-diakonos

The biggest reasons to like diakonos, that I can see after a cursory run through it, are its help system and its keystrokes, which are similar to some big-name word processors.

Open a file is CTRL+O, close it is CTRL+W, save is CTRL+S and so forth. There are some slight exceptions (save-as is CTRL+ALT+S, as an example) but in most cases it will take only a few seconds to be up and running … if you use those unnamed word processors often.

diakonos has an impressive configuration file too; it might take a while to search through it all, but you could rearrange almost anything to what you like.

You can keep several files open at the same time in diakonos — what it calls “buffers.” Switch between them with ALT+number keys, or ALT+- or ALT+=, or CTRL+ALT+B for a list.

I think you get the idea though. The author obviously thought through these things and, in most cases, tried to make them as intuitive as possible.

I’d like to compare this with something like jed, and I’d probably be safe to do so.

And of course, there are a million (no, really, there are) text editors out there to settle on, but between diakonos and jed I’d still have to go with jed, just because it’s menu-driven.

For what I’ve seen of diakonos, it won’t take long to get used to it. If you’re searching for something less esoteric than vim and more svelte than emacs, this might be it.

4 thoughts on “diakonos: A very friendly text editor

  1. Mike

    I never met a code monkey or anybody else being serious about coding that is not preferring vim over any other editor. So I really wonder: who the hell is writing all those editors I can see here at inconsolation?

    1. K.Mandla Post author

      I couldn’t tell you. I have a feeling it crops up at intervals because it’s a fundamental task that lends itself to programming practice.

      Or it may be that some people are so finicky that making a new editor is preferable to learning someone else’s software.

      And if you really want to blow your mind, visit this site.

  2. Mike

    Great link, was not aware of that. I’m probably trapped in a informational bubble where there’s no need for text editors beside vim 🙂

  3. Pistos

    Thanks for the review of Diakonos.

    Truth be told, the main reason I started writing Diakonos back in 2004 was that I was using emacs at the time, and found it frustrating to configure.

    I suppose menus are one way to expose a set of features to the user, giving them a way to discover or find a given feature that they expect to be present. Were there any particular key editor features that you could not find out how to actuate in Diakonos? I’m curious to know, so that I can improve the UI.

Comments are closed.