Bonus screenshot: A fistful of terminal applications

I promised a few people a screenshot, to show what this machine looks like in action.

2013-01-07-solo-2150-desktop

No fancy setups there. elinks, Midnight Commander, vimwiki and mplayer against the framebuffer at 500Mhz, in Arch Linux.

There’s a little bit of a shear effect on mplayer’s output because the movie was running while I took the screenshot. Sorry; next time I’ll pause the video.

But that’s what things can look like, if you want to run something strictly text-based and without Xorg.

We now return you to your regularly scheduled blog. ;)

3 thoughts on “Bonus screenshot: A fistful of terminal applications

  1. CorkyAgain

    See, this is why it’s good that you’re back.

    I’d been seduced by the dark side and have been running xorg and openbox most of the time. (Btw, if you want a good lightweight terminal emulator, have a look at st from suckless.org.)

    But now you’ve got me thinking about going back to a strictly text-based system…

    Reply
  2. Seth

    How are you able to run other applications while player is running?

    I’m on a debian system here and when I start mplayer in the console it grabs all my keystrokes, ruins screens layout, and in some cases cant be killed without REISUB.

    Reply
    1. K.Mandla Post author

      Not sure; I haven’t used Debian in a while, and not while using the framebuffer for video output. Most of the systems I used with Debian were far too slow for mplayer.

      My first thought is to try a different framebuffer video driver; have you done that yet?

      Reply

Leave a reply

