2048.c: And everything in between

There are about 108 titles in my list for the T section, and so I’m expecting this to be another month-long adventure.

Before we get started though, I have a couple of small disclaimers.

First, I am going to lump about five different toys here in one post, mostly because they all devolve from the same game, and I’d just as soon take a nice big swipe at the T section, right off the bat.

Second, I will admit I don’t have much love for 2048 on the whole. I think it’s oversimplistic, wannabe-mathematical and just plain pseudointellectual.

Furthermore, it doesn’t hold nearly the challenge of either Tetris or Sudoku, both of which are superior puzzle games that have excellent versions for the console.

So I’m going to abbreviate for the renditions of 2048 that I have, and give a quick list of pros and cons. If you’re way into it and need something that will play across ssh while you’re bored at work, you can take your pick and I won’t judge.

OK. Ready? Let’s go.

2048.c

2014-05-14-6m47421-2048.c

Pros: Good use of color, easy to read, borderless, compact, uses arrow keys. Cons: Only one terminal size, no high score list that I could find.

Overall: Probably the best all-around version, and one of the easiest to read.

2048-cli

2014-05-14-6m47421-2048-cli

Pros: Strict ASCII, uses vi directional keys, exceedingly light. Cons: Scrolling style. No color, no animation, has the feel of a programming challenge or class homework.

Overall: The obvious choice for ultralight or ancient text-only systems, or across limited network connections.

bash2048

2014-05-14-6m47421-bash2048

Pros: Bash-driven. Strict ASCII, but “animated.” Decent use of color. Uses arrow keys. Cons: Some color inconsistencies, I think. No high score list, I think.

Overall: Not a bad game, tries hard with color but using ncurses line drawing instead of hyphens-and-pipes would be a step up.

macht

2014-05-14-6m47421-macht

Pros: Excellent color use, fullscreen, symmetrical layout. Great visual appeal. Cons: Not many; reduce clutter by removing the dividing bars. Use some empty screen space for metadata, a la Tetris or classic arcade games (high scores, player names, etc.).

Overall: Probably closest to a console application 2048 game, per se. A little touching up and it could be the leader of the pack.

term2048

2014-05-14-6m47421-term2048

Pros: Minimalist. Nice color use. Svelte. Smallest footprint. Keeps a high score list. Cons: Python, which may drag on old, old machines. No fullscreen.

Overall: Definitely the choice of the hipster-hornrims-coffee-house-tiling-window-manager set. The only one to track scores, that I can tell.


That’s what I have now, and if you like you can send me others. To be honest though, I’m probably most likely to just tack a link on the end of this post, rather than feature them individually. I don’t have enough love for the game, and there’s a lot out there that’s done better.

If you’re putting together a similar program for fun or as a challenge, don’t be discouraged by my disinterest.

In fact, I can tell you the one missing thread throughout all these — the feature that all of them lack right now: real-time network play, in the same way vitetris or nettoe can do it.

Come up with something on par with that, and not only will you have my curiosity, but you will have my attention. Get to work, people. :twisted:

3 thoughts on “2048.c: And everything in between

  1. Pingback: Links 26/5/2014: Chromebook Prospects, China and GNU/Linux | Techrights

  2. Pingback: termrec, ttyrec, tty2gif and others: Pretty as a picture | Inconsolation

  3. Pingback: t, ttytter, twidge and more: Text-only Twittermania | Inconsolation

Leave a reply

